Just got this press release from the Sabres:

BUFFALO, NY (October 8, 2008) – Buffalo Sabres head coach Lindy Ruff announced today that defenseman Craig Rivet has been named the 23rd team captain in franchise history. Rivet becomes Buffalo’s first full-time captain since Stu Barnes from 2001-03.

Ruff also named four alternate captains: Teppo Numminen, Jaroslav Spacek, Jochen Hecht and Jason Pominville.

The 34-year-old Rivet was acquired from San Jose on July 4, along with the Sharks’ seventh round pick in the 2010 Entry Draft, in exchange for Buffalo’s second round picks in the 2009 and 2010 Entry Draft.

Originally selected by Montreal in the third round (68th overall) of the 1992 Entry Draft, Rivet has 194 points (45+149) in 744 career games, along with 911 PIMs. Rivet was an alternate captain with San Jose (2007-08) and Montreal (2006-07).

Buffalo used a rotating captaincy in 2003-04 and 2007-08, while Daniel Briere and Chris Drury were co-captains from 2005-07. Pominville was the last Sabres player to wear the “C” when he was named captain for March/April of last season.

Here is a complete list of team captains in franchise history:

Floyd Smith (1970-71)
Gerry Meehan (1971-74)
Jim Schoenfeld (1974-77)
Danny Gare (1977-82)
Gilbert Perreault (1982-87)
Lindy Ruff (1987-89)
Mike Foligno (1989-91)
Mike Ramsey (1991-92)
Pat Lafontaine (1992-97)
Alexander Mogilny* (11/93-4/29/94)
Michael Peca (1997-2000)
Stu Barnes (2001-03)
Miroslav Satan (October 2003)
James Patrick (December 2003)
J.P. Dumont (January 2004)
Daniel Briere (Feb. 2004; 2005-07)
Chris Drury (Nov. 2003; March 2004; 2005-07)
Jochen Hecht (Oct. 2007; Feb. 2008)
Toni Lydman (November 2007)
Brian Campbell (December 2007)
Jaroslav Spacek (January 2008)
Jason Pominville (March/April 2008)
Craig Rivet (present)

*-due to injury to Lafontaine

One thought on “Sabres name Rivet captain …”

Comments are closed.